Why I Ride: Lester Blumberg.

What is it that gets me out of bed before dawn to drive down to Foxborough and cycle 100 miles?  It isn’t just the party at the end of the ride!

My passion for the Rodman Ride for Kids is driven by the vital mission of Jewish Big Brothers Big Sisters, by the real difference JBBBS makes in the lives of children in need and adults with disabilities, and by the way my own life has been enriched by my friendship with a terrific kid who just needed an adult to hang out, have fun and eat ice cream (lot’s of ice cream!) with him. It is easy for me to appreciate the value in what we do, since I see it firsthand.  What is so touching is that my community of friends and family also see the value, and donate to support my participation in the Ride.  The money we raise goes directly to supporting this important work. The ride is really just the icing on the cake.

JBBBS gives Lester a good reason to Rodman Ride.

JBBBS gives Lester a good reason to Rodman Ride.

Did I mention the great party?  Riders support more than 45 agencies and share a common dedication to serving kids and supporting the devoted staff and volunteers who have dedicated their careers (and free time) to making better the lives of children and families in our communities who are in need.  We finish the ride tired and hungry, uplifted by music and the cheers of friends, old and new.

This will be my sixth Rodman Ride.  In the years since my first Ride on a clunker of a mountain bike, I have become something of a cycling enthusiast.  I upgraded my bike, and cycling keeps me in pretty good shape.  But I always come back to the Rodman Ride.  It’s why I ride today. It’s the cause that gives my enthusiasm for riding a deeper meaning.

Join us this year!  You won’t regret it!

Leave a Reply

