In our community: Erin Doniger.

Every month, we profile a member of the Jewish Big Brothers Big Sisters’ community, highlighting what drew them here and what keeps them coming back for more. This National Mentoring Month, meet former Little Sister-turned-Children’s Program volunteer, Erin Doniger!

What motivated you to become a Big Sister?

First and foremost, my own experiences as a Little Sister motivated me. JBBBS is such a wonderful organization, and it’s done so much for me, personally, over the years that I knew I wanted to give back by providing mentoring and friendship to a little girl.

What did you enjoy most about your experience as a Little Sister? What do you most enjoy about being someone else’s Big Sis?  

My Big Sister was a really great tennis player and often took me to the courts to play. I loved spending time with her this way because not only did we have lots of fun, but I also got to learn a really great skill from her. As a Big Sister myself, I love having the opportunity to plan fun activities that my Little Sister and I can both enjoy and benefit from together.

What might you tell a parent about the benefits of seeking a mentor for their child?  

Looking back at my parents’ decision to enroll me, I am nothing but thankful. The organization does a wonderful job matching Big and Little Brothers and Sisters so that the relationship is positive for everyone involved. I personally benefitted immensely from the opportunities that JBBBS afforded me, and I would genuinely encourage parents to do for their child what mine did for me by getting involved.

How do you spend your free time?

When I’m not working or volunteering, I’m catching up with friends and family, watching movies, cheering on the Patriots…

Go Pats! To enroll a family member, to volunteer or to learn more about JBBBS, e-mail info@jbbbs.org.

Leave a Reply

